CPH Tech Policy Committee

Copenhagen Center for Social Data Science (SODAS), the Department of Political Science and the Queen Mary’s Center have initiated the CPH Tech Policy Committee, bringing together national and international experts in the global tech policy field to discuss current and future tech policy challenges, drawing on insights from state-of-the-art research.

The global tech race between Silicon Valley in the US and Shenzhen in China is accelerating. Authoritarian states are undermining democracies through disinformation as well as cyber and traditional warfare, and Europe and its member states are struggling to find their role in the digital world order.

This underlines the need for a forum that brings together international voices from different backgrounds for a knowledge-based conversation on new ideas and practices in the tech policy field.

The CPH Tech Policy Committee consists of scholars and professionals from the private, public, philanthropic and civil society sectors in Denmark and abroad. The partners of the Committee meet several times a year and discuss challenges and dilemmas in the tech policy field that are affecting society, using the latest research within the field. Rebecca Adler-Nissen, Professor at the Department of Political Science and Director of Strategic Partnerships at SODAS, chairs the Committee.

The Committee brings Danish experiences with digitalisation into conversation with international practices. Our vision is that the CPH Tech Policy Committee will foster lasting global partnerships and add new perspectives to a global agenda.

Prior to each meeting, we publish a CPH Tech Policy Brief. 



All partners participate in their personal capacity:

  • Abraham Newman, Director, Mortara Center for International Studies & Professor, School of Foreign Service and Department of Government, Georgetown University
  • Andreas F. Geertsen, Head of Tech Policy Department, Ministry of Culture, Denmark
  • Andreas Espersen, Head of Digitalisation Policy, Confederation of Danish Industry
  • Anita Gohdes, Professor of International and Cyber Security, Hertie School
  • Brian Adrian Wessel, Deputy Permanent Secretary, Legal and International Affairs, Ministry of Industry, Business and Financial Affairs
  • Christina Dahl Jensen, Team Leader – Transformation and Innovation Lab, DanChurchAid
  • Esben Gadsbøll, Chairman of the board & Co-initiator, Danish Tech Startups
  • Josh Kallmer, Head of Global Public Policy and Government Relations, Zoom
  • Lene Mandel Vensild, Head of Office, The Prime Minister’s Office, Denmark
  • Lene Wendland, Chief, Business and Human Rights Unit, UN
  • Marie Louise Gørvild, Impact Partner, DTU Earthbound
  • Mikael Ekman, Director of Policy and Strategy, Microsoft
  • Nanjira Sambuli, Fellow, Technology and International Affairs, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Niels Tanderup, Director, Global Affairs, cBrain
  • Rikke Frank Jørgensen, Senior Researcher, Danish Institute for Human Rights
  • Sophus Garfiel, Permanent Secretary of State for Digital Government and Gender Equality




  • Chair: Rebecca Adler-Nissen, Professor, Department of Political Science & Director of Strategic Partnerships, SODAS 
  • Vice Chair: Sune Lehmann, Professor of Complexity and Network Science, Technical University of Denmark
  • Secretary: Kristoffer Albris, Assistant Professor, Center for Social Data Science (SODAS) and Department of Anthropology
  • Morten Axel Pedersen, Director of SODAS, Professor, Department of Anthropology
  • Simon Kjær Hansen, Director of Crown Princess Mary Centre
  • Sigrid Marie Lassen, Manager of Networks, Crown Princess Mary Centre